Mets Game 72: Win Over Phillies
Mets 8 Phillies 0
Finally, Matt Harvey gets run support.
Mets Game Notes
Matt Harvey was his usual dominant self, disposing of Phillies batters like a frat boy feasting on Philly cheesesteaks. He pounded a 97-98 MPH fastball all over the strike zone, hitting triple digits on occasion. Where did this velocity come from? Maybe the heat?
In addition to his lights-out pitching, Matt Harvey was hitting the ball hard all day. His double scored the second run of the game, and in the sixth, he hit a liner back to the box that knocked the glove off Joe Savery‘s hand.
David Wright led a surprisingly powerful Mets offense, going 4-for-5 with 2 doubles, a triple, and a homerun. Overall, of the Mets’ dozen hits, 9 were for extra-bases.
Eric Young is playing like a man on fire in his first few games as a Met. So did Rick Ankiel, by the way. Hmmm … should we expect it to last, or is this a case of someone — like Ankiel — who is playing a bit above his head because of intense motivation to prove everyone wrong?
Mets received a gift when center fielder Ben Revere dropped the ball after catching it to start the top of the fifth inning. After holding the ball securely in his glove, he brought it down to his hip and it popped out as he opened his glove and attempted to shuffle it into his right hand. The umpire called it a “no catch” and the hustling Juan Lagares made it all the way to third base. (Actually, Lagares hustled to first, jogged it to second, and then turned it on again after rounding second and seeing the ball come loose. If he was running hard all the way, would he have made it home? Maybe?)
In my opinion, it was the wrong call. Per the MLB Rule book:
A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession. It is not a catch, however, if simultaneously or immediately following his contact with the ball, he collides with a player, or with a wall, or if he falls down, and as a result of such collision or falling, drops the ball. It is not a catch if a fielder touches a fly ball which then hits a member of the offensive team or an umpire and then is caught by another defensive player. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught.
Hey, it’s a judgment call, but from my perspective, Revere caught it, held it for a good two seconds, then dropped during the exchange. We’ve seen it happen a thousand times before, and umpires almost always call it a catch.
What really irked me, though, was Ron Darling‘s reaction to the play. He asserted that it was definitely not a catch because — he said — the fielder has to be able to take it out of the glove with his hand. No Ronnie, he doesn’t — see the rule above. Further annoying was Darling’s continued beratement of Revere through the bottom of the inning. Darling criticized Revere for “styling” and suggested that those on the Phillies bench should “freeze him out” for his poor play, to “teach him a lesson.” Really? Wow, Ron, what crawled up your butt this morning? Readers, you know I’m old school and hate to see poor fundamentals, but even I couldn’t see what Ronnie was seeing. I didn’t see any “styling” or showboating by Revere — I just saw a guy who inadvertently dropped the ball during the exchange, and a bad call by the umpire. Maybe I’m wrong, but that’s the way I saw it.